Lovage Wine: An Update

Lovage Wine finally bottled

A year ago, I made Lovage Wine from the abundance outside my kitchen door. A few weeks ago, we finally bottled it, and I have had my first taste. I can tell you it’s deeeelicious! And somewhat alcoholic!

It has a lovely rich golden colour, and an interesting fruity/herby aroma. I don’t know how to describe the taste. It is more like a sherry or a light Madeira than table wine. I’m not sure that it is compatible with savoury food but it is certainly fantastic with a few nibbles as an aperitif. Since the lovage has grown to ridiculous proportions again this year, I am going to make some more wine, on the basis that you can’t have too much of a good thing!

If you are interested in trying it yourself the recipe is on the original blog post. Cheers!

Leave a comment

Filed under cooking

Leave a Reply

