The Year of Knitting Lacily: January Update

What a lovely shawl! Slow Dance by Nim Teasdale is a beautiful all-over lace design that you can grow as much or as little as you like. The lozenge shapes fit together neatly, and are flexible enough for you to be able to use up every scrap of your skein of yarn. With this in mind, I started to weigh my remaining yarn during the last two pattern repeats, and determined that each row was using 2g of yarn. This enabled me to knit almost to the end of the ball; I wasn’t sure how much yarn the stretchy cast off would take so I erred on the side of caution and was left with 9 grams.

image

This is another shawl from Nim’s Love is Friendship Caught on Fire collection, and features two charts which can be used singly or in combination. The overall effect is more geometric and less flowery (or leafy) than other designs I have completed in this challenge. The yarn is a lovely semi-solid turquoise from Wharfedale Woolworks. It is called Laguna, and is a one-off hand dyed yarn in Kirsty’s beautiful Yorkshire Rose BFL sock range, so I was still restricted to 385m and 110g. I also used approximately 920 Debbie Abrahams silver-lined clear number 6 beads and a 1mm steel crochet hook.

image

The cast off I used was the straightforward Russian cast off, as I thought Jeny’s extremely stretchy cast off would be too bulky on the delicate edge.
For the record, I knitted the setup chart, followed by chart 1, chart 3, chart 2 twice, 3, 2, 3, 2, 3, 2, 3 extended, and row 1 of chart 2 before casting off on the wrong side.

This shawl is lovely to wear, sitting easily on the shoulders and rippling down the back in a cascade of silver!

Technical notes
Pattern: Slow Dance by Nim Teasdale
Yarn: Wharfedale Woolworks Yorkshire Rose BFL, colour Laguna
Needles: Addi steel 4mm circular 100cm
Yarn remaining: 9g (approximately 31m)
Finished dimensions: top edge 135cm , widest point 85cm

January’s challenge
Just two more shawls to go and I shall have completed my personal challenge to knit a lacy shawl a month for 12 months! January here in Yorkshire is usually cold but with lovely bright days even if they are short! I’m thinking of another beaded shawl, this time using some lovely pearl beads I bought from Justadaydream’s Etsy store. These beads have already determined which yarn I use! Wharfedale Woolworks penultimate yarn of this year’s sock yarn club is Demeter, the Greek goddess of the harvest. Wikipedia says “Though Demeter is often described simply as the goddess of the harvest, she presided also over the sacred law, and the cycle of life and death”, and also suggests that, etymologically speaking, her name could be translated as Mother Earth. With this in mind, no doubt, Kirsty has produced an interesting semi-solid yarn in shades of brown ranging from light stone to an earthy rich humus; pearl beads will enhance this, representing small pebbles in the soil.

The pattern I shall be knitting is Fine Vine by Marisa Hernandez, an all over vine motif with a lacy leafy border. No beads are specified, so I shall be placing them myself, in the border to enhance the leaves.

image

1 Comment

Filed under knitting

One response to “The Year of Knitting Lacily: January Update

  1. Pingback: top five lace shawl designers on ravelry | Granary Knits

Leave a Reply

